Gym daycare: We just aren’t there yet

March 16, 2012

The one time I attempted to leave Gi with the daycare at my gym was an epic failure. She cried and cried and cried. I think she felt abandoned. When I returned from my 20 minute workout to check on her, she was being held by the daycare instructor and her eyes were red and puffy. I felt terrible.

But, I think I’m going to attempt the gym daycare again. Do I dare?

Part of me thinks I should wait until the summer when I plan to make workouts part of my summer schedule. (I have yet to establish a good workout routine while working full-time and it haunts my subconscious ALL THE TIME.) Why put her or myself through the ordeal when I know it’s not going to be part of our routine just yet? But the other part of me really wants to work out this afternoon. It’s a cold and dreary day, which means no walks or trips to the park. What harm would it be for her to play in the Kid Zone for about an hour?

I know my child will be one of those kids who cry when their mom leaves them on the first day of pre-school.

Several hours later…

Had to cut this one short because she woke from her nap. We didn’t end up going to the gym. Ah well.. I will just have to try it out another night. Tomorrow’s Saturday, so I will be attending my weekly Saturday morning spin class. That I don’t miss. The hubby watches her during that one!!