The naptime pitfalls

Editor’s Note:

I’ve been MIA due to a severe case of procrastination and writer’s block. But a lovely friend motivated me today to get back at it. So here’s a short little piece this tired momma whipped up, which I’m sure some mommies of multiple children can relate. Enjoy! More to follow!  

I used to love naptime. It was this perfect little piece of heaven, smack dab right in the middle of the day. A guaranteed 2 (sometimes 3) hours of peaceful time to myself that I could spend however I pleased;  My favorite guilty pleasure:  Watch Days of Our Lives sprawled out on the couch.

Now, there are many days where I just LOATHE those two (sometimes three) hours. It’s not that I don’t appreciate the fact that my toddler is a good napper (just the opposite actually because it helps keep her pleasant and well), but my little infant is an on the go machine.

He is the ultimate cat napper – 15 mins here, 20 mins there (Heck, as I type this, my cat naps much better than he does, so I can’t even classify him as a cat napper!). During the two hour naptime for my daughter, I feel as if I spend most of it trying to get my son to sleep.  It’s exhausting! I wish I could strap him in a stroller and take him for a walk, but no can do.

Usually by the end of naptime, I’m just dying to get out of my house for some time where I don’t feel as though I have to constantly entertain my son. But, when 4 p.m . rolls around and my daughter has gone potty, had a snack, and is finally ready to leave, I’m usually too darn tired to lug the troops out the door and to the playground.

So when my two little darlings actually do nap at the same time, well that’s just a little slice of heaven right here on earth!

Leave a Reply

