Silly grinning

During tonight’s bedtime routine, I found myself drifting to some fun memories of the past day: namely my niece’s third birthday party. It was a fun time. As we were leaving, my 2 ½ year-old daughter said, “I had a lot of fun today playing dress-up, daddy,” as my husband zippered up her coat to head to the car. Her statement was said in her adorable 2-year-old voice, but the simplicity of it struck me; It didn’t take much to make her happy – put out some fun dress-up clothes, add a little frosting to her diet, and it was a day heaven-sent for a toddler.

I must have had quite the goofy grin on my face as I drifted from my reverie to the present when my daughter looked at me and said, “What are you doing, mommy?”  I looked at her and she mimicked the same goofy grin I had on my face.

“Just thinking about you,” I said to her. “You make me happy.”

She giggled, and then finished reading her book, “10 Little Ladybugs,” which she has memorized along with many of her other books.

While our bedtime routine is far from perfect – we deal with delay upon delay, requests for “one more book, please mommy,” and trips to and from the potty – I couldn’t help but think that this is what it’s all about. These simple moments, mundane moments even, that make life worth it. To watch your child, your own flesh and blood, the one who grew inside of you, develop and grow is truly awe-inspiring.

As a society, we struggle with happiness and fulfillment. Life is not easy. But stop and look through the eyes of a child – those simple things are what make us complete. IMG_5448

Leave a Reply

