Tomorrow’s Friday!

I don’t even want to write this out because I fear I may be jinxing myself, but here it goes: Gianna is finally going to sleep at night for me without hysterically crying and asking for another book, to lie with mommy, or a for a diaper change over and over and over again.

It’s got to be because I stuck to my guns. She realized I meant business and business she got. We are now back to a nice little hug, followed by placement in crib. I say goodnight, leave the room and shut light, and she settles down into her crib. Easy peasy, lemon squeezie.

It’s certainly wonderful because she certainly was testing my limits while she tested the waters with me. I hope this new routine lasts for a while. I know there will come a time when she tries, yet again, to test the waters, but for now, bedtime has stopped tormenting me; it’s gone back to being quite enjoyable.

On a side note, however, what is it with babies and colds? Why do they last so long? It drives me insane. A week ago, Gi caught her 100th cold of the season (I exaggerate, but still) and her nose is still runny. I just want her to be free from coughs and stuffy noses. Is that too much for this mama to ask for?

For the most part, she doesn’t seem to be too phased by it. She’s still a happy-go-lucky child, singing and chatting away, but every time she coughs, it feels like a knife is being driven through my heart. I guess that’s what love does to you. When you love someone so much, when they suffer, you suffer too.

Ah the pitfalls of motherhood. But I wouldn’t change it for a second. My daughter fills my heart with so much joy, sometimes I feel like I might explode!

This entry lacks focus, for which I apologize. I am exhausted this evening, but I promise a much more focused entry within a few days.

Oh, and in case you forgot, tomorrow is Friday! TGIF!

Leave a Reply

