Ya just neva know…

My child is completely unpredictable, particularly when it comes to bedtime. I spent literally all of today dreading putting her to bed this evening.  After last night’s episode, which lead to the baby sleeping in mommy‘s and daddy’s bed with a bright and early 5 a.m. wakeup call, I predicted this evening’s bedtime escapade would include lots of screaming and crying. But alas, as I put her down and left the room, she actually said, “I love you mommy” and promptly fell asleep (I’d say about five minutes of talking before it got quiet.).  Now, last night’s big ordeal actually didn’t quite start until about 10 p.m., so I suppose I’m not out of the wood just yet. One can only hope (and pray).

Part of the reason last night became such a huge ordeal is because I’m paranoid she’s going to try to climb out of her crib again (see previous entry). She woke up around 10 p.m. and fussed for quite awhile, kicking in my paranoia. I don’t have a video monitor, so I had to check on her to calm my nerves. Big mistake. Hysteria kicked in for her and a sleepless night began for me.

Needless to say, I’m exhausted (which is why my writing this evening is terrible) and a video monitor has been ordered from Amazon.com. Ahh, peace of mind, I can’t wait until you arrive. Honestly, I don’t know why I waited so long to buck up and purchase the video monitor. For all new moms out there, just do it. I don’t even have it yet, but I already know it’s going to make night times so much easier.

Oh, on another note, my brainchild figured out how to count to 24 now. If only she’d use her newfound knowledge to count sheep at night. Then maybe we’d all get the much needed shuteye.

Sweet dreams!

Leave a Reply

