She was so good until…

What is it about babies that make them change their temperament when mommy enters?

One of the things that drive me crazy is when my husband says, “She was so good until you got here.”

Gee thanks, love. Maybe I should just leave.

I’ve read that the reason for this is because babies feel most comfortable around their mother; they know their mother will love them unconditionally, so they can be their true selves.

I don’t know, though. I think that article was just trying to make mommies feel better, because when it happens to me, particularly in a public place, I feel like a complete failure.

This morning, I met up with some family members for breakfast after spin class. My hubby was already there with Gia. Her temperament didn’t immediately change, but after some time, she had had enough of the high chair and wanted mommy.

Cue the fussing.

From that point on, she was a royal pain. She didn’t want to sit, didn’t want to be held, and didn’t want my phone. She didn’t know what she wanted and neither did I.

As I was putting on her coat, the waitress walked by and said, “Wow. She’s usually never like this.” (Usually, I just go home after the gym and don’t meet up with the family for their Saturday morning breakfast).

Lovely. Another hit to my mothering skills. Failure with a capital F.

I felt like screaming (and I almost did), “She’s not usually like this with me.”

But no, today she put on a show. She tested my patience (I’ve been trying to teach her the meaning of that word lately, so maybe she wanted to be sure I understood it too). Or maybe she just wanted everyone to know she feels the most comfortable with me, her mommy.

I think I’ll go with the latter.

Leave a Reply

