Things I love:

  • That my daughter will now say I love you when I put her to bed. Granted, she’s just mimicking me say it. But she says it and that’s all that matters to me!
  • Friends who are willing to help me keep my life and home in order. They say it takes a village to raise a child. I believe it. My mom friends who are there for me in prayer are my lifeline.
  • Shining my sink, which stems from the bullet above. I’m excited to clean. Who me? Yes, you heard correctly.
  • That I’m actually still writing.
  • That I have finally let my friend, “The Bachelor” go. We all know he’s going to pick Courtney (and no, I did not read the spoilers; it’s just my hunch.). I’m done. Good luck to him. When he let Kaci B. go, he also let me go too.
  • That I’m OK with the fact that it’s only Monday.  Mondays after a vacation week are a hard adjustment, but I’m adjusting. I’m starting to see the light of summer at the end of the dark winter tunnel. Plus, I want to be happy and happiness, I truly believe, has a lot to do with your mindset. I have to work full time for the rest of the school year. Why spend the rest of my time sulking about it? I have amazing students who are excited about writing and publishing their work in their student newspaper. My daughter is happy and well cared for when I’m at work. Things are good. I have to keep reminding myself of that. Soon I’ll have the summer vacation and then when I return to work the following year, I only have to work part time: 2 ½ days. I’m ecstatic beyond words that this is going to work out, so why spend my time sulking that I have to work full time for  3 ½ more months?  Actually, just this very second right now it’s dawned on me how soon I get to be a part-time stay-at-home mom. Eeek! I’m thrilled. So there you have it. I’m done sulking. I’m happy. I’m going to enjoy these 3 ½ months I have left as a full-time teacher. I started teaching because I believe in making a difference in the lives of children. I’ve always loved my job. I’m going to start each day with a smile and bring that optimism into the lives of the children I teach and the daughter I am raising.

These are the things I love.

Leave a Reply

