Ma ma

Two syllables. Never before has two syllables ever sounded as sweet. Gianna spoke to me tonight. Those two syllables melted my heart as they escaped from her delicate mouth.  In a soft spoken manner, she repeated ma ma, ma ma, and I grabbed my video camera and hit record.

My once rather irritable baby has turned into quite the charmer, smiling and giggling constantly as she plays with her toys.  Her tell-tale shrieks and screams have turned into quiet coos and babbles and I’m amazed at how she grows and changes every day.

But these two syllables are my favorite. Her first real “word” directed at me, the one who gave her life. Does she know what it means? Probably not.  But it doesn’t matter to me.

 

Leave a Reply

